Inner Divinity

A Pagan/Druid friend of mine recently introduced to the entry of a new blog by Rev. Davin Mac Lugh (an Ordained Druid Priest with An Draiocht Fein (ADF) a Neo-pagan religious organisation) that spoke of our inner divinity and how to evoke it.

In Rev. Davin Mac Lugh’s blog entry (that you can read in full here), he made reference to a poem, the Song of Amergin, that I’m transcribing below, and teaches us how to write one by ourselves.

I am Wind on Sea,
I am Ocean-wave,
I am Roar of Sea,
I am Stag of Seven Tines,
I am a Hawk on a Cliff,
I am shining tear of the Sun,
I am Fairest among Herbs,
I am Boar for Boldness,
I am Salmon in Pool,
I am a Lake on a Plain,
I am a Hill of Poetry,
I am a Word of Skill,
I am the Point of a Weapon (that pours forth combat),
I am God who fashions Fire for a Head.
Who knows the secrets of the Unhewn Dolmen?
Who (but I) announces the Ages of the Moon?
Who (but I) know the place where falleth the Sunset?
Who calls the Cattle from the House of Tethra?
On whom do the cattle of Tethra smile?
Who is the troop, the god who fashions edges in a fortress of gangrene?
(I am) a Song on a Spear, an Enchantments of Wind.

I am still revolving around mine, and putting much thought into what I wish to add there. But soon I will be posting mine for you to read. 😉

Here’s the Gaelic version (taken from here), that happens to be performed by Lisa Gerrard of Dead Can Dance:

Am gaeth i m-muir,
Am tond trethan,
Am fuaim mara,
Am dam secht ndirend,
Am séig i n-aill,
Am dér gréne,
Am cain lubai,
Am torc ar gail,
Am he i l-lind,
Am loch i m-maig,
Am brí a ndai,
Am bri danae,
Am bri i fodb fras feochtu, Am dé delbas do chind codnu,
Coiche nod gleith clochur slébe? Cia on co tagair aesa éscai?
Cia du i l-laig fuiniud gréne?
Cia beir buar o thig tethrach?
Cia buar tethrach tibi?
Cia dám, cia dé delbas faebru a ndind ailsiu?
Cáinte im gai, cainte gaithe.

P1000904

Wind and Sea wave

About wavoreforest

Pagan, witch, thinker, writer, woman. I am me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inner Divinity

  1. Pingback: My Song | wavoreforest

Leave a Reply

